God Bless America

god-bless-america-dvd-cover-18

I have seen my fair share of movies that one could consider, morally “Gray”. The 3 that jump to the forefront of my mind are Law Abiding Citizen, Edge Of Darkness and The Departed. But God Bless America, blows them all away (pardon the pun). Its as if the movies Office Space and Horrible Bosses mated, and had a crazy and demented child.

I won’t give away the plot (no spoilers 🙂 ), but I will say a little.

The man in the film, Frank, seems like he could be any one of us. Sick and tired of the stupid, ridicules bullshit that drives the country.  But instead of being passive and depressed about the state of the nation, and turning to some form of narcotic self therapy, he does something about it.
His sidekick Roxy, is much the same. Coming from a cookie cutter family and living a cookie cutter life, she feels isolated by her intelligence in a world full of stupid. But witnessing Frank’s first crime, changes something in her, and makes her see what Frank does. That they do not have to be passive in the face of arrogence and assholery. THEY, can do something about it.

This movie is amazing.

But a word of caution, this movie may not be for everyone.  I give it a personal R rating, not for nudity, but for VERY extreme violence. I won’t give the plot away, but I will just say, a baby is involved.

But, I encourage all to see it. Its the best film I have seen all summer, hell, its one of the best ive run into in years. I highly recommend it.

If I were to rate it out of 10, I would give it a 10.

This entry was posted in Culture, Music & Media, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Bless America

  1. Pingback: Dr of Common Sense God Bless America Offends NPR, Atheists, and Liberals | Carrie Welborn

  2. mbman says:

    Thank you for the review :).

    They say, its good to speak your mind. And I agree. But the problem is, not everything one would like to speak about, is nessesarily good for various areas of there life (social, employment ect). Which is why I love the platform that a blog provides.

    Having people find what I say interesting enough to read, is but a bonus.

    Like

  3. Sometimes it is just being able to vent your thoughts, even if no one else reads them…and boy do I have lots of thoughts! keep up your blogging passion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

