Digital Deathmatch – Blackberry Style Vs 1st Generation Ipod touch

BlackBerry-9670-8 blackberry 2

ipodtouch.gif

First of all, for clarification, those pictures above, are not of my devices. They are but googled look a likes.

But anyway, I had purchased both these devices in the past, but they were both rendered obsolete by my newly obtained iPhone 4s last November.

The iPod was purchased WAY back in 2008, and I has worked great since then. Though it was rendered unsalable fairly recently by a faulty earphone jack. Its lifespan in its FULLY functional state seems about average, 5 years. Though it is interesting that the earphone jack did it in, and not the round button that usually is the culprit.

As for the Blackberry, that was purchased in replacement of my first generation blackberry Curve (the trackball is a horrible invention!), and the last CDMA phone that I will ever own (my preferred network has finally joined the modern age with an updated 3G and 4GLTE network).
Though I love the 3G speeds, I notice that the signal strength seems, slightly weaker. Areas that slide between full and 4 bars CDMA coverage, often register just 3 bars on this 3G phone. Which makes me question how useful it will be, out in the sticks (Manitoba has a LOT of boondocks).

Either way, I got the berry sometime in 2012 (maybe February), and it was for the most part, a good phone (though it was starting to get glitchy in the end).

I had both of these devices sitting in a drawer, unsure what to do with them for the last 6 months. Then it occurred to me that I could set up a “death match” of  sorts, since the devices were unsalable anyway (CDMA will be gone in a few years tops, and an iPod isn’t much good without proper headphone output).

So I decided to use something that is known to be a boon to electronic equipment. Salt water.

First to take a dive, was the blackberry. Then the iPod.

For the blackberry, being its a relatively tall device when opened, I used a sink with about 2 inches of water. I opened the phone to its home screen and dropped it in (face up of course).

The first noticeable change, was the network signal strength went from 4 to 2 bars (water absorbs radio frequencies, as would the metal sink). The next change after a few seconds, was the display  started to get “jumpy”. After about 25 or 30 seconds, the screen went black for the last time, but the back-light remained on for an additional 20 (or so) seconds.
When the back light went out, thinking that the phone was now completely fried, I pulled it out of the water. Though everything was dead on the front, the little red light on the back was still on (albeit at around half its normal brightness).

So after being submerged in fairly diluted salt water for  40 seconds to a minute, it was still not “technically” dead.

UN-Salvageable? likely. But “dead” to the point of NOTHING working?  No.

As for the iPod, this experiment also involved salt water, but I used a clear glass instead of the sink (since its short enough it fit in and be fully submerged). As it turned out though, it did not need full submersion, as I only had it half way in before it want lights out for its final time. Not even a second.

So, in this contest, we have a clear winner.

While the iPod could not even stand partial immersion, the blackberry survived almost a minute FULLY submerged. In a real life accident situation, that blackberry should be fine the 2 or 3 seconds its submerged.

Figured I would bring in Canada day, with this strange tale, of Canadian resilience in the face of American competition. As bad of a rap that Blackberry has been getting as of late, their phone dominated my little experiment.

This entry was posted in Opinion, Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

