Dianne Hoffmeyer – My Thoughts

I had referenced this in a previous “Things That Annoy Me” entry, albeit loosly (being I at the time could find nothing online  about it). But it has since gone viral, so much more is out now. In fact the story of her morning being ruined by some mean ladies behind her in line has now been digitally published by all kinds of journalistic sources, big and small, world wide. But of course.

The first time I had come across this was on facebook, though an image shared with a short explanation. The image was of Dianne Hoffmeyer holding a Tim Hortons cup, with her story of allegedly being verbally accosted by 2 older women whom insulted her to the point of crying. Women, that she says she ended up purchasing coffee’s for.

“Because it was the right thing to do”.

http://globalnews.ca/news/2239130/it-was-the-right-thing-to-do-mom-buys-tims-coffee-for-strangers-who-insulted-her/

I am going to be perfectly honest here and say that I did not read the story upon running into it on facebook. Seeing the image of her photographed with the branded product so clearly shown was one red flag. And the way the story was worded even from the beginning (guaranteed to tug on the heartstrings) was an even bigger red flag (the one that broke the camels back, it would seem). I just scrolled on past, annoyed AGAIN that people were so easily manipulated.

One of the big reasons this annoyed me was because it is basically a free advertisement for Tim Horton’s. A story that is guaranteed click bait to anyone that posts it, and as such a story that has really no downside for any involved. Well, besides the bandwidth and attention taken away from other things that could have been shown instead of the glorified Tims ad. But such is the world today.

What was more concerning, is the seemingly manufactured look of the whole thing.

I did a bit of digging, finding not all that much to work with. I did find a facebook page dedicated to apparently exposing this lady for the fraud she pulled off, but though it contains some interesting and seemingly embarrassing material, I decided not to share any of it here, out of a lack of knowledge of the agenda of the person (or person’s) of whom started the page.
I reached out to the administrators in a private message, asking what their relationship with Dianne Hoffmeyer was, and thus what their agenda was. I stated that though I would not mind helping expose another social media fraudster, I am not going to get involved if they just have an axe to grind with Hoffmeyer. Though someone read the message, there was no response as if publishing.
As such, I will not use any of the material it provided (or even link it) here. But no worries, its easy enough to find on facebook with its internal search feature should you be curious.

Long story short, though I (as of yet) can not guarantee this story is false, half true or true, I am leaning towards the first 2. Even without what little information that facebook group seemingly has, the whole thing is, questionable.
For one thing, such an incident would seem to be memorable for all involved (including the staff serving the person). Though I did not go in depth in terms of reading into many of the stories (or even into the incident itself), this angle seems like one that, would be an obvious one to cover. Interviewing the staff involved (if possible) to get their piece.
I would hope that one of the many hundreds of sources that have run with this story would have thought of this.

Either way, I am airing on the side of skepticism and am closing the book on this.

I will likely do an update if new information is revealed later from someone close to to the situation (staff, other guests in the coffee shop, even possible the bullies themselves). But for the time being, I will leave this as simply, plausible.

And even if this is a true story of a women responding in a very good way to bullying and fat shaming, I question why this was given so much coverage, EVERYWHERE. If anything at all, it illustrates a big part of what is wrong with journalism today.

When you compete with social media, you need to drop your standards.

This entry was posted in Charlie Hebdo, Opinion, Various Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dianne Hoffmeyer – My Thoughts

  1. I had my doubts reading the story myself. My first red flat was that Dianne Hoffmeyer didn’t look obese. True or not true, her story rings a particular fond tune for the ever popular band wagon jumpers of today’s society.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello!!

    First things first, My name is Dianne Hoffmeyer,Not Dianna.
    And while I appreciate your views and opinions, perhaps much could have been made clearer to you if you would have asked me yourself. Seeing as how you state that the other questionable page was so easy to find,I am quite certain mine was even more so as it has always been public.
    Shame on you. You could of asked me yourself.

    I can also clarify a few questionable items for you. The “Bash Page” made about me was created by a man who lives in another country,that I have never met or even spoken to. He put my life and those of my children lives in very serious danger and encouraged many people to follow suit,which they did.

    Please know that I love to write, I am well versed in how to create a compilation of words in order to help assist the reader to feel the emotions behind what is written. A strong point I learned in High School ELA.

    Not one bit of what I wrote was in any way made to help the Tim Hortons franchise in popularity,after all, they don’t need a small hick from a Podunk town doing anything for them. They seem to be doing pretty well on their own if you ask me.
    Nothing was manufactured at all,and you would of known this had you reached out to personal sources that know me in real life or had dealt with me regularly at the local Tim Hortons shop. Again, you did not do so.
    So, that leaves me with several questions of my own for you Sir, they are as follows:

    I am just wondering, we’re you EVER EVER able to prove that this story was a fake? We’re you there? A employee? Maybe one of the ladies I bought coffee for?
    Did you review the security footage from the store?
    I did. I watched it with a LIVE television crew standing next to me. Several employees witnessed this exchange. People that truly know me in life KNOW this is true.
    Disturbed?? No I am not. I did the right thing,funny….. I am STILL doing the right things,I still pay it forward every chance I get.
    So again,Did you ever prove it to be fake or are you like the countless others that just follow Tyler Cox around hanging on his every word?

    You DO understand that the F.B.I. and Cyber Division were actually able to PROVE that many of those circulated photos of me supposedly sharing outrageous memes were indeed FAKE??
    We’re you one of the many people that called my home,harassed my children,and threatened to harm my infant daughter also?

    Maybe you were one of the few that dumped Tim Horton garbage all over my lawn and car for 3 weeks. Maybe, just maybe,you might have been the man that called my sons school and threatened to shoot him in the head “to teach me a lesson”. Perhaps you are the reason my teenager was fired from her job.
    Did you happen to create the fake GFM accounts as well??

    Before you make an assumption about a person, you should ASK the person DIRECTLY what happened.
    People like you are horrible & rotten and are the REAL reason ugly exists in this world.
    Get the truth,stop spreading lies and rumors and gossip and hearsay!!!
    You DO notice Mr. Cox no longer has that page running? Amazing what the F.B.I, The Canadian RCMP and a couple of lawyers can do.
    He endangered the lives of not only me but innocent children and your worried about parts of my past that you don’t even know the truth on that either.

    You’ve become no better than that man and the large amount of cruel humans in this world by promoting hatred,lies,bitterness,gossip and rumors. I feel sorry for you. I really do.
    If we ever bump into one another, rest assured, before I would waste a coffee by dumping it on your head,I’d rather buy you a cup,so that bitterness burns going all the way down!! Then and maybe then you MIGHT have the slightest inkling of what me and my family have gone through this past year!!

    I truly hope I was able to clarify a few things for you. And I hope in the future if you have questions that you won’t hesitate to come ask me. Your more than welcome to. At anytime. Really.

    You wondered WHY People went bonkers over this? I will tell you why, because day in and day out we see death,destruction,racism,hurt,killings,rapes,murder,executions,loss of loved ones, missing children that never make it home, sons and daughters that fight on foreign soil only to come home in a box, and people needed a “happy spot” a good feeling,a positive vibe, something that maybe many of them could relate to,anything but the ugly we are exposed to day in and day out. Because “Good” really does exists. And for a moment it erased all the ugly. That’s why people loved what I did.
    That is why Sir. For one minute there was some good still left in this world and with a loud cheer people united and rallied for the beauty in it.
    Best of luck in all of your endeavors..

    Dianne Hoffmeyer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mbman says:

      Hi Dianne,

      First of all, apologies about getting your name wrong in the title. It has now been corrected. I will now go though your comment section by section to try and address all of your concerns/accusations.

      //And while I appreciate your views and opinions, perhaps much could have been made clearer to you if you would have asked me yourself. Seeing as how you state that the other questionable page was so easy to find,I am quite certain mine was even more so as it has always been public.
      Shame on you. You could of asked me yourself.\\

      When someone is doing a proper investigation of any kind, they do not rely on the word of those involved. You look to external sources in order to build the most solid case possible.

      Even if you are telling the truth, having outside material always helps.

      //I can also clarify a few questionable items for you. The “Bash Page” made about me was created by a man who lives in another country,that I have never met or even spoken to. He put my life and those of my children lives in very serious danger and encouraged many people to follow suit,which they did.\\

      That was what I was afraid of, and why I didn’t link to it.

      //Please know that I love to write, I am well versed in how to create a compilation of words in order to help assist the reader to feel the emotions behind what is written. A strong point I learned in High School ELA. //

      Good to hear. Its getting rare to see people that actually WANT to write, these days. Which is why I respect those that do, whatever their perfered format.

      //Not one bit of what I wrote was in any way made to help the Tim Hortons franchise in popularity,after all, they don’t need a small hick from a Podunk town doing anything for them. They seem to be doing pretty well on their own if you ask me.\\

      No doubt.

      But your incident is just one of many articles that I have seen in various contexts, ALL refrencing the same company.

      I figured it woudnt be YOU taking a kickback. But any one of the media outlets that like to run these branded “news stories” . . . who knows.

      //Nothing was manufactured at all,and you would of known this had you reached out to personal sources that know me in real life or had dealt with me regularly at the local Tim Hortons shop. Again, you did not do so. \\

      I had considered calling the Tim Hortons and asking about the authenticity of the situation. However, 2 things stopped me:

      1.) Its a busy fast food restaurant, and they likley do not have the time to deal with such requests

      2.) There may already be dozens of such calls coming in from journalists. Or just a huge amount of related calls brought in by the attention.

      I would be part of the problem.

      //So, that leaves me with several questions of my own for you Sir, they are as follows:

      I am just wondering, we’re you EVER EVER able to prove that this story was a fake? We’re you there? A employee? Maybe one of the ladies I bought coffee for?
      Did you review the security footage from the store? \\

      No. But I also didn’t try very hard, as the incident was not as important as the larger problem of taking viral stories from social media at face value.

      More on that later.

      //I did. I watched it with a LIVE television crew standing next to me. Several employees witnessed this exchange. People that truly know me in life KNOW this is true.//

      In that case, ide love to have a link to either the news story or the footage. That would put this whole thing to rest.

      //Disturbed?? No I am not. I did the right thing,funny….. I am STILL doing the right things,I still pay it forward every chance I get.
      So again,Did you ever prove it to be fake or are you like the countless others that just follow Tyler Cox around hanging on his every word? //

      I assume that is the fellow behind the FB group? . . .

      If so, no. I do not hang off his every word. In fact, I didn’t utilize ANY of it.

      I also am not hanging off of YOUR every word, as it seems like I am expected to.

      Verify. Always verify.

      //You DO understand that the F.B.I. and Cyber Division were actually able to PROVE that many of those circulated photos of me supposedly sharing outrageous memes were indeed FAKE?? \\

      Again, I did not utilize ANY OF THE INFORMATION. I didn’t trust it.

      Am I surprised it is fake? No.

      //We’re you one of the many people that called my home,harassed my children,and threatened to harm my infant daughter also? //

      No. That is terrible.

      //Maybe you were one of the few that dumped Tim Horton garbage all over my lawn and car for 3 weeks. Maybe, just maybe,you might have been the man that called my sons school and threatened to shoot him in the head “to teach me a lesson”. Perhaps you are the reason my teenager was fired from her job.
      Did you happen to create the fake GFM accounts as well??\\

      I didn’t do anything like that. I wish it was surprising and shocking to hear, but I’ve been online long enough to know how many shit for brains people are online.

      I am sorry you and your family had to go though that. But I assure you that I had no part in it.

      I am here to be critical of an increasingly gullible online culture. I am not here to harass people.

      //Before you make an assumption about a person, you should ASK the person DIRECTLY what happened.
      People like you are horrible & rotten and are the REAL reason ugly exists in this world.
      Get the truth,stop spreading lies and rumors and gossip and hearsay!!!\\

      I have spread no lies, hearsay or otherwise.

      //You DO notice Mr. Cox no longer has that page running? Amazing what the F.B.I, The Canadian RCMP and a couple of lawyers can do. \\

      No, I didn’t notice. Your name is only on my radar again because of your comment to me.

      As I wrote in the post, as far as I as concerned, this story was plausible. Might, have happened, might not have. Not worth considering further.

      Also, I am again, not spreading anything negative about you. If anyone is giving out I information, its you. Each time you mention this Tyler Cox character.

      //He endangered the lives of not only me but innocent children and your worried about parts of my past that you don’t even know the truth on that either.

      You’ve become no better than that man and the large amount of cruel humans in this world by promoting hatred,lies,bitterness,gossip and rumors. I feel sorry for you. I really do. \\

      I know you have dealt with a lot of dickheads because of this situation. But I am not like the rest of them.

      I do not harm and harass. I VERIFY.

      //If we ever bump into one another, rest assured, before I would waste a coffee by dumping it on your head,I’d rather buy you a cup,so that bitterness burns going all the way down!! Then and maybe then you MIGHT have the slightest inkling of what me and my family have gone through this past year!!

      I truly hope I was able to clarify a few things for you. And I hope in the future if you have questions that you won’t hesitate to come ask me. Your more than welcome to. At anytime. Really. \\

      I am done with the matter. Was the moment I published the post. But a link to either the footage or the news story therein would be nice.

      In fact, that would put this whole matter to rest enough That I would just delete the post.

      // You wondered WHY People went bonkers over this? I will tell you why, because day in and day out we see death,destruction,racism,hurt,killings,rapes,murder,executions,loss of loved ones, missing children that never make it home, sons and daughters that fight on foreign soil only to come home in a box, and people needed a “happy spot” a good feeling,a positive vibe, something that maybe many of them could relate to,anything but the ugly we are exposed to day in and day out. Because “Good” really does exists. And for a moment it erased all the ugly. That’s why people loved what I did.

      That is why Sir. For one minute there was some good still left in this world and with a loud cheer people united and rallied for the beauty in it.
      Best of luck in all of your endeavors..

      Dianne Hoffmeyer. \\

      In truth, I wrote this piece because of my annoyance with both the public AND the media’s habit of running with stories (feel good or otherwise) before vetting them. No matter the
      Truethfulness of yourself, it seemed no one bothered to do much more than post it for clickbait.

      Apparently there were some that asked questions. But they went WAY to far.

      Though I am sorry about what your family endured due to those idiots, I am not sorry I wrote this piece. I take pride in my ability to not take things on Faith.

      Like

Leave a Reply

