Mahatma Gandhi – Racist and Misogynist

Of all the controversial titles that I have ever used in a post, this has got to be right at the top. It was inspired by an article I ran across from “Broadly” (a branch of the Vice network)

https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/gandhi-was-a-racist-who-forced-young-girls-to-sleep-in-bed-with-him?utm_source=vicefbca

Upon coming up to this piece, my first reaction was “Wait, what?!”. As may have been yours.

But as it turns out, it looks to be rooted in truth. Or at least it can be found amongst multiple other sources.

https://www.google.ca/search?site=&source=hp&ei=qnJoVp3DBZKcjgSZpZKACw&q=was+gaandhi+a+rapist&oq=was+gaandhi+a+rapist&gs_l=mobile-gws-hp.3..30i10.1606.18846.0.19203.25.23.2.1.1.0.149.2406.10j13.23.0..2..0…1.1.64.mobile-gws-hp..1.24.2258.3.hc_NGhL-2bc#q=was+gandhi+a+rapist

I can not say that this little revelation rocked my world. I did not have all that much vested knowledge or interest in him. However, my overall view of him (like that of many westerners I would think) was positive.

But as in all other knowledge, this can (and now, HAS) changed. There was a time when I thought of both Mother Teresa and Bill Cosby as overtly positive influences as well.

Not anymore.

This entry was posted in Opinion, Various Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

